WES!

I was on Facebook this morning and Bill Coon’s status referred to the fact that it is Wes Montgomery’s birthday today!  I have a special place in my heart for Wes Montgomery.  With my dad being a guitar player  heard a lot of guitar around the house but none tweaked my interest more than Wes Montgomery.  There were two tunes in particular: Sundown and The Thumb.  Perhaps the most memorable performance for me was from The Wes Montgomery Trio: The Dynamic Sound and then tune as Monk’s Round Midnight. This to me could quite possibly be one of the greatest solos ever. To me it encompasses everything that jazz is. Click on it and listen!

This video is widely available on youtube but thought I’d post it anyways. I think that’s Harold Mabern on piano!  Happy Birthday Wes!

One thought on “WES!

Leave a Reply

