SO MUCH NEW MUSIC!

I can’t believe how much music I came home with from NYC! The last thing I need is more music but how can I not jump at the opportunity to hear great music!  I figured the best way to get through all this music is well….one disc/record at a time!

In the CD Player and iPod this week are:

GERALD CANNON – this is a very hard swinging straight ahead date featuring some great original compositions and some hip and clever arrangements of some standards such as Secret Love and a beautiful rendition of My One And Only Love featuring the leader/bassist Gerald Cannon.  I met Gerald at The Harlem Legion on the NY With Weeds tour. He handed the album to me personally.  A great record.  Oh yeah special mention to Sherman Irby on alto saxophone to. Very sweet sound!

 

I hadn’t heard much about these guys other than a few emails looking for gigs at The Cellar and when I found out that they had recorded an album with Smalls Live I really wanted to check it out.  Arguably these names are the least known to record on the label and valuing Spike Wilner’s (founder of Small’s Live) as I do I was eager to check it out. It’s a cool record with good tunes and some very spirited blowing. They definitely have a hip and cool band sound. Worth checking out!

 

I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that I’m on an Art Farmer kick lately. I mean what’s not to like?  Such a beautiful sound and such wonderful lines.  I have been eating up everything he’s been playing! So thoughtful!  I picked up Perception for $5 at The Jazz Record Center in New York and have been loving it! Harold Mabern on piano, Tommy Williams on bass and Roy McCurdy on drums!  Lullabye Of The Leaves is killing!

 

 

On tap for this week lots of piano trios!  Benny Green Trio, Dado Moroni Trio, Monty Alexander Trio!

Leave a Reply

