FUN TIMES

Had a great weekend playing up in Kamloops and Kaslo this weekend with The Night Crawlers. Drummer Jesse Cahill got some great pictures and shot some video that he will be posting on his blog later today or tomorrow.  Check it out!

It was great to hear Phil Dwyer who was playing in Kaslo with his trio (Ben Dwyer -bass and Alan Jones – drums). He always sounds so good.  They were on before our set with Jim Byrnes which was a total gas.  Blues for an hour. My kinda band!

On Thursday before we left I made a pit stop at AUDIOPILE on the drive to cash in on about $125.00 in trade that I had at the store and boy did I have myself a little party!  I wasn’t really into searching through the used vinyl so I just checked out the new vinyl and picked up some awesome stuff. As I type this post I’m listening the lyricism of one Kenny Dorham on ‘I Should Care’ from Hank Mobley’s ‘Second Message’ on Prestige.

Other gems:

DON WILKERSON – SHOUTIN on Blue Note

CLIFFORD JORDAN – SOUL FOUNTAIN on Vortex

DONALD BYRD – BLACKJACK on Blue Note

HANK MOBLEY – MESSAGE on Prestige

CLIFFORD JORDAN – CLIFFORD JORDON on Blue Note

SONNY CLARK TRIO – SONNY CLARK TRIO on Time

KENNY DORHAM – THE ARRIVAL OF KENNY DORHAM on Jam

HANK MOBLEY – THINKING OF HOME on Blue Note

JIMMY REED – JUST JIMMY REED on Vee-Jay

ELVIN JONES/JIMMY GARRISON SEXTET – ILLUMINATION on Impulse

JIMMY MCGRIFF – I’VE GOT A WOMAN  on Sue

Gonna be a good week in the Weeds household!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

