PIC OF THE DAY: ERIC ALEXANDER & GEORGE COLEMAN

Big G and Eric Alexander

There are many days I will never forget but the weekend that Eric Alexander and George Coleman (Big G) graced the Cellar stage is a weekend I will never ever forget!  Two of my favorite saxophonists on stage at the same time. Wow!  So much toughness and testosterone on the bandstand with those two! It wasn’t the easiest gig for the rhythm section (Jodi Proznick – bass, Ross Taggart – piano, Jesse Cahill – drums) but they did a phenomenal job of hanging in with Eric and Big G.  It was quite a coup for me to get Big G at The Cellar as he was and still is basically retired.  I had made several attempts to get him before but to no avail. When I was in NYC taking a lesson with Eric, I handed him a piece of paper with a figure on it and simply said “you and and Big G” at The Cellar.  It worked and it was a tremendous weekend!

Leave a Reply

