PIC OF THE DAY: WEEDS/ROTONDI

My main man Jim Rotondi!  I have had so much fun with this guy over the past 14 years. Jim was one of the first people I interviewed on my radio show back when it was dedicated to Talent Deserving Wider Recognition.  I remember when I first opened the club we had scheduled him in October, 2001 to come out with Eric Alexander.  Eric had to cancel for some reason and we decided to postpone Jim’s appearance.  Then, 9/11 happened and a lot of stuff dried up in NYC and Jim called and wanted to do the gig anyways.  I remember being so stressed because was the first time we were gonna charge $10. Funny to think back about those times.  In the following years, Jim would come back many times but in the past 5 years or so I have had the great pleasure of sharing the bandstand with him. We recorded an album together and toured Canada and parts of the US together.  Great guy!

Leave a Reply

