HAMMER TIME

20130403-210431.jpg

On my last NY With Weeds Tour we had the great pleasure of being present for a live recording by pianist Tardo Hammer and his trio of Lee Hudson on bass and Jimmy Wormworth on drums. It was an exhilarating night of music in an incredible setting (Klavierhaus Recital Hall). Tardo is really underrated. Plays bebop piano a la Bud Powell, Elmo Hope, Sonny Clark etc. As I type this I’m listening to the rough mixes (did I mention this is for Cellar Live?). It’s absolutely phenomenal!!

3 thoughts on “HAMMER TIME

  1. I’ve always loved Tardo’s playing and feel that he is a very underrated cat. Very glad to hear about this recording. I’ll definitely get it when it’s available.

  2. Not a player familiar to me. Is Tardo any relation to Jan (Hammer)? I will also be looking for the Cellar Live release. And what’s the chance of a future date at the Cellar?

    • No relation. There is not a lot of info out there about Tardo. He was brought to my attention by Grant Stewart who brought him to The Cellar about 5 years ago and I was knocked out. His CD Look Stop & Listen is absolutely phenomenal. There is an aversion to recording and / or promoting that style of piano playing which is really unfortunate. It’s truly unique and no one plays like that! I’m thrilled that we were able to record him AND his working trio on our NY With Weeds tour.

Leave a Reply

