MORE ON THE CELLAR

I wasn’t planning on making another statement this quickly after breaking the news late last night about the impending closure of the club however due to what I’m reading on Facebook I wanted to make sure that I get things straight or at least as straight as they can be.

First of all, thank you to everyone who has called, written and sent texts.  I have received many heartfelt messages and it has made this whole thing much easier.

I want to re-iterate that nothing is imminent in terms of a new location. I will simply say that I feel like I have many more years in me in terms of owning and running a jazz club but the situation at 3611 West Broadway became to much for me to deal with on a number of levels. I have most certainly put out feelers about other locations and talked with many people about possibilities but again, nothing is imminent.  I AM going to take a break after March 1st.  How long that break will be, I have no idea. I have no idea what is around the corner for myself and for the future of the club. As this news becomes more known I’m sure it will open doors to new opportunities and I’m eager to see what those may lead to.

I wish I had more news about a new location, new club and new beginning but the truth of it is, I just don’t and I have no idea what lies ahead. As I stated in my original release I have dedicated my life to this music and the presentation of it, and I will continue being a ‘jazz warrior,’ in whatever capacity I can.

I will be making announcements about several concerts very soon, I’m just trying to firm up some details.

In the meantime I’m concentrating on my CD release party next weekend with Steve Davis, a great show with pianist JON MAYER &  Steve Kaldestad (November 29/30) followed up by my 40th Birthday party with The Louis Hayes Cannonball Adderley Legacy Band (Dec 5 – 8). There is so much great music upcoming at the club until the end of February and I plan on enjoying all of it.

I will be posting all updates right here on my blog so stay tuned for the most up to date information here on my blog and again, THANK YOU for all the love.

6 thoughts on “MORE ON THE CELLAR

  1. Well, I’d like to join my voice to that chorus of well-wishers, Cory. How GREAT for you to take a well-deserved break from the demands of running a club. Good luck with the next few months as you wind things down. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for an amazing new location to materialize so you can reincarnate the Cellar in a new way down the road.

  2. Another sad day for Jazz in Vancouver, and there have been many. It started with the closure of Radio C-JAZZ, The Alma Cafe, The Cotton Club, Kenny Coleman’s Jazz Club both locations of Arni May’s Rossinis, and now this. So much great talent, so many great musicians, why is this happening? Corey, you are more than a warrior you have been a Jazz Owner Survivor. Be good to yourself and keep on playing!!

  3. The city jazz scene has not had anyone who walks the talk like Cory Weeds. Keeping a jazz club not only afloat but thriving for 13 years is a phenomenal achievement.

Leave a Reply

